Thursday, October 16, 2014

Introducing the Contact Manager


The SendTree Contact Manager is here to make organizing, managing, and updating your contact lists easier. It allows you to quickly and efficiently manage all your contacts and lists from one place. Whether you want to edit an individual contact, save a contact to multiple lists, or upload a list to a specific group, this guide will show you how to do all these things and more.

Let’s get started!


Table of Contents 
A. Getting Started with the Contact Manager
B. Creating a New Contact
C. How to Edit an Individual Contact
D. Creating a New Group
E. Upload a List of Contacts to a Group
F. How to Assign One or More Contacts to a Group
G. Deleting a Group (does NOT delete your contacts)  
H. How to Delete and then Retrieve a Contact/Contacts
I. How to Download/Export a Group
J. Searching for a Contact


A. Getting Started with the Contact Manager

>> Before you can begin managing your contacts you’ll want to migrate your current contact list to the Contact Manager database. To get started:
  1. Sign in to your SendTree account here
  2. Select the down arrow beside the My account button. Select Manage contacts. (Or you can visit https://www.sendtree.com/contacts .)
  3. At first there is a message that reads, “You have no contacts yet!” No need to worry! All your contacts are still there. You just need to transfer the list by clicking “Yes, bring my recipients here!

  4. This process can take a couple minutes if you have thousands of contacts. You’ll receive an “All done” message when the migration is complete.




B. Creating a New Contact

>> Need to add an individual contact to the database? Easy! Begin by:
  1. Clicking the icon of the plus sign and person hovering over the Names category.
      
  2. Enter the contact’s name, phone number (xxx-xxx-xxxx) or email, the method by which you will contact this person (text, email, or voice), and then select Save.



C. How to Edit an Individual Contact

>> Editing or updating an individual contact’s information is simple. 
  1. Just hover over the specific aspect of the contact’s information you want to change and click the small pencil icon
    Pencil icon >> 


  2. Whenever you need to edit or update your contacts, just click the pencil icon and make the necessary changes. Your changes are saved when you leave the cell.


D. Creating a New Group

>> Organizing your contacts into groups will make it easier for you to send messages to specific people. Instead of tediously sorting though your contacts, you can organize contacts into manageable groups. 

  1. Pick a name for your group and type it in the “new group” space. Then click the “+” icon or press the Enter key to create the group. 
    • For example, for a group of volunteers you might choose a title like Volunteer Group
  2. The process is complete with the group appears in the list under All Contacts. Notice how the Volunteer Group we created appears in the screenshot below.


A quick note about groups

The "All Contacts", "Opt Out", and "Undeliverable" groups are always there and cannot be deleted. If a contact on your list decides to opt-out, they will automatically be placed into the Opt Out group. Likewise if a message cannot be delivered to a contact, they will automatically be placed in the Undeliverable group. SendTree will never attempt to send messages to contacts that are found in either of these two groups.

The All Contacts group is not really a group, but is literally all of your contacts. Keep in mind, you can have contacts that don't belong to any group. Those contacts will show up in your All Contacts list.

Putting a contact in the Opt Out group is permanent. You cannot remove a contact once it is in the Opt Out group. However, if the opted-out individual decides to opt in again, their action will remove them from the Opt Out group.

You can remove contacts from the Undeliverable group on an individual basis. A possible scenario is that their contact information needs to be corrected so that delivery will succeed next time. If you do correct the contact information, then remember to remove the contact from the Undeliverable group to allow future delivery.

E. Upload a List of Contacts to a Group

>> Do you have a CSV file to import into the Contact Manager? You can upload a list and merge it with a particular group by:
  1. Selecting the group you’d like to upload the list to. 
  2. Clicking the Upload button. 
  3. Select Choose File and locate the file you’d like to upload from your computer. Then click Upload.
    • Or you can click Cancel at the bottom of the screen to cancel the upload.



F. How to Assign One or More Contacts to a Group

>> There are two different ways to sort your contacts. Depending on how many contacts you are editing you can organize contacts in different ways.  

Option 1 (organizing just one contact at a time)
  1. Select the pencil icon under the Groups space beside the individual contact you’d like to assign to a new group. For example with Carla Dewitt >>
  2. Select the boxes for any group(s) you want the contact to be assigned to and click save changes when you’re finished. 



Option 2 (organizing one or more contacts at a time)
  1. Select the box beside the name of the contact(s) you want to assign to a new group. 
     
  2. Two new buttons will appear above your list of contacts. Click the third button and assign the contact(s) to groups that way. 
  3. Click save changes when you’re done. 


G. Deleting a Group (does NOT delete your contacts)  

>> SendTree’s Contact Manager allows you to delete a group without deleting your contacts. To delete a group:
  1. Hover over the  group you want to delete and click the small "X" beside it. 
  2. Select the red Delete button that appears. The group will be removed from the list, and your contacts will now be listed under All Contacts


H. How to Delete and then Retrieve a Contact/Contacts

>> Sometimes everyone needs a do-over. The Contact Manager can retrieve and return contacts you've deleted. 
    • An Important Note About Undoing a Deletion: The Contact Manager can only retrieve the contact(s) from your most recent deletion. If you delete two individual contacts at separate times, the Contact Manager can only recover the most recently deleted contact. Also -- the Contact Manager cannot retrieve contacts after you sign out of your SendTree account. 

How to Delete and then Retrieve a Contact/Contacts
  1. Check the contact(s) you want to delete and click the Trash Can symbol to delete. 
  2. A new button has replaced the Garbage Can symbol that says Undo Delete (#). 
    • The # in parentheses indicates how many contacts you just deleted.
  3. Click Undo Delete (#) to retrieve the contact(s).


I. How to Download/Export a Group

>> Need to download your contact lists? SendTree makes it easy for you to export your data.
  1. Select the Group you want to download. 
  2. Then click the Download button. You can retrieve this list from your downloads and drag the CSV file to your desktop.


J. Searching for a Contact

>> Having trouble finding a specific contact? You can easily locate a contact with the Contact Manger's search tool. 
  1. Start by selecting All Contacts from your list options. 
  2. Click the space in the the search tool bar and look up a contact by their name, phone number, or group

    • For example, if we were looking for an individual named Charles, we'd type “Charles” in the search bar, and press the Enter key. The Contact Manager will filter through all contacts who have the word “Charles” in their name and display the results in the list. 
    • You can also search by phone number, email, or contact type (TEXT, VOICE, EMAIL).


We think you’ll find that SendTree’s Contact Manager makes sorting, finding, and updating your recipient lists much easier.